Book Review: If I Stay

If I stayBook: If I Stay
Author: Gayle Forman
Rating:★★★.5

What would you do if you had to choose between life and death? After a tragic accident 17 year old Mia is faced with this gut-wrenching decision. She is standing on the sidelines watching her life as an outsider. The decision is up to her. Will she stay or will she go?

I found the premise of this book very unique. Although I don’t believe that it is our decision to choose, I found this piece of fiction captivating. I enjoyed how the chapters went back and forth from past to present, but because of this it was also a little choppy and I found I couldn’t really connect with the characters emotionally (no tears from me). Also found the characters to be a little one dimensional. Since we were learning about them all mostly from the past there was no real character growth. The “love scene” was cheesy and I found myself rolling my eyes, but that could just be me. =p

Now I know that sounds like I probably didn’t like the book, but I actually did. I kept turning the pages faster and faster to find out what happens. I found it enjoyable, but I don’t want to give anything away so I can’t really talk too much about what I really liked about the book. This book really got me thinking though. What would I do if I was in her situation? Definitely brings out some interesting discussion.

Although I didn’t LOVE this book as much as pretty much everyone. I still thought it was a good read. 3.5 stars from me and I’m looking forward to reading the sequel and watching the movie. I will definitely try more books by this author. I was not disappointed.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: If I Stay

Leave a Reply

